Hijabi Doll

For some time, I have wanted to make a hijab doll but was having difficulty in getting the hijab to be right. I stumbled upon a picture of a crochet doll wearing hijab from a Malaysian woman, and thought I would try to recreate it. The hijab is non-removable, so there is no hair underneath. The problem with making a crochet hijab over hair is that it becomes to puffy. The weight on the dolls head is a lot too. Of course, you could use a light fabric like cotton and make a hijab out of that. I have used my wrap under pieces and also a wrap headband and they have worked. I do not sew so I do not make those hijabs for my dolls. This is why I have decided to either make my dolls with hair  or a hijab.

Here is my doll. It is for sale on etsy: https://www.etsy.com/listing/270750541/faceless-muslim-hijab-doll?ref=shop_home_active_1

IMG_20160302_155729

 

I designed the abaya to replicate the abaya on the right of this picture I found online: ♥ Muslimah fashion & hijab style:

As for the hijab, it consists of 2 pieces that are then attached together. The first piece

Jpeg

Jpeg

is the top, which is place on top of the head. The second piece is the bottom, which is placed around the neck and falls to the shoulder.

Jpeg

Jpeg

The rest is just taking yarn and a yarn needle to attach them together. I still want to tweak the hijab a little but I liked the overall look.

Check out my other dolls on my Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/facelessdolls/

Leave a Reply

